News & Views

New Canaan Country School Holds Closing Exercises

New Canaan Country School held its Closing Exercises on Thursday, June 14. Head of School Dr. Robert P. Macrae encouraged the 32 ninth grade graduates of the Class of 2018 to continue to take ownership for their learning. VIEW PHOTOS
“Each member of the Class of 2018 can proudly claim an ownership stake in Country School,” said Dr. Macrae. “Every one of you has a unique story of how this place has become your own.  You went to great lengths to protect, preserve and promote the school you love—to leave it a better place than when you entered.”
Ninth Grader Hannah Nightingale of Rowayton delivered the Class Salutation in which she noted “We are gathered here today to celebrate the immeasurable. To celebrate everything this school has taught us beyond textbooks.” 
Dillon Mims of Norwalk presented the Class Reflection. “There’s no up and leaving Country School and never looking back, it’s too special of a place for that. When faculty have inspired and prepared you for this moment, there’s no such thing as goodbye— only ‘see you later.’ When the values of Country School, being part of a risk taking mistaking-making community, are what you’ve lived your whole life by, there’s no such thing as goodbye— only ‘see you later.’ NCCS is a part of each and every one of us, and we can’t just say goodbye to it— and if we could, we wouldn’t want to,” said Dillon to his classmates.
Daly Baker of New Canaan received the Johansen Award, which is presented to the member of the graduating class who most exemplifies the qualities of care and concern for others, compassion and a sense of community.
Class of 2018 graduate James Kontulis of New Canaan received the Gamble Award, which is presented to the student who exemplifies, to the highest measure, the fruit of the spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.
The Class of 2018 will attend the following secondary schools:
Berkshire School, Brien McMahon High School, Choate Rosemary Hall, Deerfield Academy, Greens Farms Academy, Greenwich Academy, Hopkins School, The Hotchkiss School, King School, The Loomis Chaffee School, Millbrook School, Phillips Academy Andover, Phillips Exeter Academy, Rye Country Day School, St. George's School, St. Luke's School, The Taft School, Westhill High School, Westminster School and Williston Northampton School.
The Class of 2018 includes: 
Carter Alvord of New Canaan, Daly Baker of New Canaan, Alex Byrne of Darien, Shane Carbin of Norwalk, Sydney Coffield of Stamford, Owen Collins of Darien, Lydia Dormer of Wilton, Sydney Essex of New Canaan, Luca Franzino of Stamford, Tyler Galante of Darien, Emma Herdeg of New Canaan, Anna Hernandez of Stamford, Jack Johnson of New Canaan, Lucy Jones of Rowayton, James Kontulis of New Canaan, Jennifer Llamas of Norwalk, Logan MacLear of New Canaan, Audrey Magnusen of Norwalk, Deyante McKinstry of Norwalk, Dillon Mims of Norwalk, Hannah Nightingale of Rowayton, Jeffery Ricciardelli of New Canaan, Georgia Rivero of New Canaan, Adam Rizvi of New Canaan, Alexis Rodgers of New Canaan, Katherine Scarborough of New Canaan, Will Seiden of Darien, Nina Stoops of Darien, Jay van Dijkum of Darien, Brian Villalta of Stamford, Lauren Walsh of Wilton and Aaron Watkins of Norwalk.