Alumni Award

Juliana “Topsy” Post ’66 to Receive New Canaan Country School Alumni Award

The New Canaan Country School Alumni Council will present the 2018 Alumni Award to Juliana “Topsy” Post ’66. Topsy will return to campus on May 17 to accept the honor and to share with students, alumni and guests highlights of her career as an educator. This event kicks off Alumni Weekend 2018.

The Alumni Award is presented each year to honor an alumna or alumnus who best embodies the statement from the school’s mission, “New Canaan Country School inspires students to be lifelong learners with the courage and confidence to make a positive contribution to the world.”
It is rare indeed when a person can profoundly touch the life of a school over several decades,” said Head of School Dr. Robert P. Macrae. “A graduate from Country School’s class of 1966 and a member of the Upper School faculty from 1992 until 2014, Topsy Post is such a person. Generations of classmates, students, and teachers have been the beneficiaries. We very much look forward to welcoming Topsy back to the Country School campus.”
As a Country school alumna and lifelong learner, Ms. Post has always displayed a passion for exploring the world and understanding the cultures and customs of others. Her travels have led her to Pakistan, where she started a school, taught at the International School in Islamabad and designed literacy materials for UNICEF®.
Returning to Fairfield County in 1985, Ms. Post continued teaching, ultimately joining Country School’s faculty in 1992 where, for the next twenty-two years, she imparted wisdom, worldly experience and a unique global perspective to Upper School students. During her tenure, Ms. Post was a teacher of English and history, a Grade 9 academic advisor and the faculty advisor to the staff of The Column, a student-run publication. She also served as History Department Chair, overseeing the design and implementation of the school’s eighth grade World Cultures curriculum. In addition, she co-lead student tours of the civil rights south as part of the school’s ninth-grade Expanded Studies program.
As a member of the larger school community, she was a valuable alto in the school’s faculty chorus and dedicated countless hours towards leading outreach initiatives such as “Midnight Run,” “Dove Boxes” and other activities designed to improve and uplift the lives of others. Ms. Post is also the mother of alumnae Samar Jamali ’95 and Alexandra Jamali ’00.
Her retirement plans to pursue her love of photography were temporarily put on hold when she agreed to serve as a Co-chair of the school’s centennial, a task she managed with humor and efficiency, overseeing preparations for a series of celebratory events.
Characteristically, nowadays her time is spent in the service of others. Most notably, she focuses her talent and energy upon those who have found their way to our country and are working hard to improve their circumstances. Ms. Post has become certified to teach English as a second language and does so both for female refugees at Mercy Learning Center in Bridgeport and recent immigrants at Building One Community in Stamford.
“Having lived in Pakistan, I know first-hand how important language is to immigrate successfully to a new country and find meaningful employment,” said Ms. Post. “I teach grammar and vocabulary, but also conversational English, so that they can develop the particular skills they need to work in their chosen field. For example, the vocabulary you would need as a home health aide might be different from that of someone working in the food service industry.”
Having imparted an understanding of people and customs from different cultures to her students, by giving her adult students a voice through learning language and by depicting those on the margins through her photography, Ms. Post takes pride in fostering the common humanity in all people.
Ms. Post will return to campus, May 17.
Questions about the 2018 Alumni Award may be directed to Director of Alumni Affairs Holly Casella, or (203) 801-5687. Previous Alumni Award recipients include:
2016-2017: Maurice “Mo” Vaughn ’82
2015-2016: G. David Forney Jr. ’54
2014-2015: Zach Iscol ’94
2013-2014: Katherine Ward ’79
2012-2013: Liz Barratt-Brown ’74
2011-2012: Matt Heineman ’98
2010-2011: Rick Ackerly ’60
2009-2010: Ted Hoagland ’47
2008-2009: Patricia Gates Lynch Ewell ‘4 1
2007-2008: Hardy Jones ’58
2006-2007: Elizabeth Spelke ’64
2005-2006: L. Paul Bremer ’56
2004-2005: Edmund L. Resor ’66
2003-2004: William A. Shutkin ’80
2002-2003: Emily Mead ’41
2001-2002: Keith H. Brodie ’54
2000-2001: Samuel Sachs ’50
1999-2000: Elizabeth S. Crow ’61
1998-1999: Hedrick Smith ’47
1997-1998: Jonathan B. O’Brien ’53 and Joan Dominick O’Brien ’53
1996-1997: Peter Goldmark ’55

Read more about the Alumni Award.