Faculty & Staff


Exceptional faculty members are the key to an outstanding Country School education. This year, 78 full-time teachers and 46 apprentices, assistants and part-time specialists support and inspire our students. Well over half of our full-time teachers hold master’s degrees.
Our seasoned instructors reflect ethnic and religious diversity, as well as a blend of youth and maturity. These teachers—an eclectic group of lifelong learners who lead by example—challenge students to fulfill their potential, find their path, and follow their passions whether in the classroom, on the playing fields, on the stage, or serving the community.
With a teacher-to-student ratio of 1 to 6 and supported by a dedicated corps of 52 administrators and staff members that strongly believe in the power of education, our innovative and caring faculty guides our students to become change agents of the future.
Country School teachers have, on average, taught for 18 years and continually work to expand and hone their skills. New Canaan Country School endeavors to recruit and retain outstanding scholars and teachers and recognizes their achievements in a variety of ways.

Meet our Faculty Chairs

List of 1 news stories.

  • Country School Recognizes Excellence in Teaching through Endowed Chairs

    New Canaan Country School celebrated excellence in teaching by naming three faculty chairs at the school’s Annual Meeting & Dinner on Sept. 13. Middle School Spanish teacher Abby Cali, Kindergarten teacher Darby Webber and Upper School science teacher Scott Lilley were presented the awards by Head of School Aaron Cooper in front of a large gathering of parents, faculty and staff members.

    Awarded every two years, faculty chairs have been endowed by three former Country School families: the Holmes Familythe Laverack Family, and the Williams Family. The chairs recognize exceptional full-time faculty who demonstrate a commitment to engaging and inspiring students, creating curriculum to reach all learners, and seeking ongoing professional development. They also provide financial support for growth in academic research, teaching or service.
    Read more

Administration Contacts

List of 10 members.

  • Aaron Cooper 

    Head of School
  • Brooke Arthur 

    Director of Marketing and Communications
  • Terry Gumz 

    Director of Advancement
  • Meaghan Mallin 

    Head of Lower School
  • Robert Mueller 

    Interim Chief Financial Officer
  • Elizabeth O'Brien 

    Head of Early Childhood
  • Kisha Palmer 

    Director of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Kirsten Rosolen 

    Head of Middle School
  • Pamela Safford 

    Director of Enrollment Management and Financial Aid
  • Alexander Wellman 

    Head of Upper School